Planning and Building

Columbia County Planning and Building oversees county land use, zoning, comprehensive plan updates, and environmental uses. The department also provides building services for Columbia County, the City of Dayton, the Town of Waitsburg, the Town of Starbuck, and Garfield County.



Submit a Comprehensive Plan Docket item.  The deadline for the 2024 docket cycle has been extended to August 31, 2023. Submissions for the 2025 annual review may be submitted at any time.

Projects Open to Public Comment

A public hearing with the Columbia County Hearing Examiner to review a Conditional Use Permit application for the Dayton Wastewater Treatment Plant and associated facilities will be held on Tues., Dec. 12 at 2:30 p.m. via Zoom. (Log in info below.) Written comments may be submitted to the Planning Department through 4 p.m. on Dec. 11 to be included in the record. Any person is welcome to provide testimony at the hearing. Application documents are available below and the staff report is available for review at the Planning Department. 

Zoom link:

Phone: 1-253-215-8782  Meeting ID: 843 8929 3394 Passcode: 356207

CUP 2023-01 Dayton WWTP Staff Report

Dayton Wastewater Treatment Plant CUP Application

Dayton Wastewater Treatment Plant SEPA

Note: Individuals may request special notification of applications, environmental checklists, determinations, notices, hearings and decisions regarding a specific proposal or proposal type by emailing


Pay for your permit online with a debit or credit card.

*Minimum $2 or 2.5% convenience fee applies.

We are continuously updating our website to better assist you. Please email Dena Martin at If you have questions regarding the Planning and Building Department website or if you have any comments on how we can make this resource more useful for you.